Open April - September (closed Mondays).
Back to What’s to See & Do Page
Painted House - Fascinating, discovered by the Kent Archaeological
Rescue Unit in 1970 (KARU) and built about A.D.200 as
part of a large official hotel for leading Roman travellers
crossing the English Channel. It stood outside the North
Gate of the great naval fort of the Classis Britannica,
but in A.D.270 the Roman army during the construction
of a larger fort demolished it. Three of its main rooms
were then buried substantially intact under its ramparts.
Visitors can see the the various heating ducts &
channels that kept the building comfortably warm 1,800
For further information ring +44 (0)1304 203279 or click here.